I wrote about the Amtrak cards from Bank of America and explained the benefits and value easily obtained from the card. One thing I neglected to mention in that post was the Museums on Us by Bank of America. Anyone with either a BoA credit or debit card can get free admission to certain museums during the first full weekend of each month. The full list of museums by state can be found by clicking this link.

As mentioned in the BoA Amtrak cards post, I am from Sacramento and attend school in San Jose. Downtown San Jose has South First Fridays on the first Friday of every month, which sometimes occurs the night before the first full weekend when museums are on Bank of America’s dime. The timing of these two events could be a great reason to visit San Jose for a weekend.

I have visited both of the San Jose museums, The Tech Museum of Innovation and the San Jose Museum of Art. Each of these are about a 5 minute drive from the San Jose Diridon Station. Sacramento is home of the Crocker Art Museum at 216 O St in downtown Sacramento, a 5 minute drive from the Sacramento Amtrak station.

My brother wants to visit me around the beginning of April but if I visited him to do a 5k together, for old times sake, that first weekend of April, I could get free entrance to the Newseum in Washington, D.C. Or we could visit one of the two museums in Wilmington, DE, or one of the three museums in Maryland.

This perk from Bank of America is small but not insignificant. This offers BoA customers a chance to broaden their horizons and learn something new each month.

