Google released a blog post earlier today on their site explaining they’ve added a new feature to Google Home, shopping.

You can set it up and start shopping by voice with the phrase “Ok Google, how do I shop?” or going through the Google Home app on your smartphone or tablet. The app is also where you would add payment information and a delivery address.

Because this is Google, and not Amazon, the shopping feature is of course through Google Express. This means you can shop from this list of supported Google Express retailers for now. Google says everyone gets a 3 month free trial their first time around, so we “don’t have to worry about additional service or membership fees.”

I’ve never tried or used Google Express before, but I think I would have tried it earlier this year if I could shop from multiple retailers in one order when I needed a printer from Staples and toothpaste from Walgreens and my new boots from Kohls. Again, that’s if I could combine different retailers in one order. Otherwise, it wouldn’t make much sense to get an entire order for one things from 3 stores.

As this feature is developed more, I hope orders can be placed through more than just Google Express, because then it won’t be limited to cities with Google Express. But I see that coming in the next couple years, not the next couple months.

