OnePlus announced late last week on Twitter and their forum they are Globally beginning to roll out to the 3 and 3T Android 7.1.1, the latest version of Android which was released back in the beginning of December.

I got the OnePlus 3T because I heard it was nearly stock Android, like former Nexus and current Pixel phones, which I assumed would keeping things easy for OnePlus to release updates to the Operating System and add features.

So far, my assumption has been correct with this update to 7.1.1 and the addition of Google Assistant, even if Google was the company to push the Assistant to phones.

What comes with this update?

Most of the changes are small things like adding new emojis and the ability to send GIFs directly from the keyboard (to compatible devices, of course).

However, a feature from Pixel I hope will be included in this update is revealing shortcuts by long-pressing an app icon. That means I’ll see “Trending”, “Subscriptions”, and “Search” when I long-press the YouTube app on my home screen.

