Flight 1: Sacramento to Minneapolis-St. Paul (SMF-MSP) – DL1742

This was a red-eye flight leaving at 12:52 am. Delta starts boarding 40 minutes early so the flight started pre-boarding at 12:12 am.

We flew on a MD-90 which is roughly the same as a Boeing 717, which is what our next flight would be on. Seats were arranged as 2-3 in Economy (1-2 in First). This meant the overhead storage was above only 2 seats, on the left that was both seats and the right the middle and window seats, leaving a weird gap on the headspace while walking through the plane.

The seats weren’t particularly comfortable because they were flat and hard. Legroom was minimal and the food tray was not sturdy, especially when it had to rest on my knees in the down position.

I chose this flight for multiple reasons, but one was being able to record the sunrise out of the window. I captured some pictures and did a [time lapse] which can be found on my YouTube channel.

We landed around 6:00 am local time, which put us a little ahead of schedule and gave us some extra time to get from one end of the airport to the opposite side of the airport. Something which took about 10-15 minutes. But it was worth it because we stopped by the Escape Lounge in MSP.

Escape Lounge at MSP

Considering it was about 6:30 am, the lounge was pretty quiet and pleasant. However, the lounge was still being set up with the food being put out for about 30 or 45 minutes after arriving in the lounge.

The lounge is pretty big with lots of seating that was mostly new; maybe a few chairs were 2 or 3 years old. I think this is the first lounge I’ve been to with paper coffee cups for taking your espresso out of the lounge, instead of having only ceramic cups for drinking within the lounge.

Another benefit of being a quiet lounge in the early morning was the ability to take a nap despite not having designated sleeping “pods”. There were some couches and big chairs which ended up being great spots to catch some “z”s.

Flight 2: Minneapolis to New York (MSP-JFK) – DL1310

Featuring a B717, this flight experience was similar to the flight into MSP since the planes are almost identical. One difference between the MD-90 and B717 were the seats, because there was an adjustable headrest on the B717.

Neither flight had In-Flight Entertainment on the back of the seats like the plane I took from SMF-SLC nor is there a TV mounted every few days for everyone to watch the same program like American offers.

I was tired so I ended up napping through take off and a little more of the flight. But after waking up for good I got to work on this blog thanks to T-Mobile.

Delta offers GoGo inflight WiFi and I could have bought a pass but I have T-Mobile for my cell phone carrier and they offer a free “WiFi and Texting” pass. So I picked the free option.

Bathrooms in airplanes are known to be small and the bathrooms on this flight were small. I’m about 6’2” (189 cm) and my head nearly reaches the ceiling even though my shoes have barely any thickness to them.

Back to the seats, legroom still was not good, but it wasn’t terrible. I had room between my knees and the seat in front of me so I’ll call that a success. I can’t wait to fly business so I have not only plenty of legroom but also a lie flat bed.

