If you remember from my posts about IHG’s PointBreaks deals, you’ll know there are a select few hotels which are offered at a discounted 5,000 IHG points/night. This list usually has inexpensive hotels, but even saving $75-100/night by booking at a nightly rate of 5,000 points can save you enough to buy your tickets to visit.

Well, my recent visit to France to watch the Tour de France didn’t quite satisfy my desire to explore France. Finding new places to visit lead me to the city of Clermont-Ferrand, and the Holiday Inn Clermont-Ferrand Centre.

The new list of PointBreaks hotels is up and the Holiday Inn Clermont-Ferrand Centre is right at the top of the list for Europe. Now, this hotel goes for anywhere between 60-80 Euros, which is $70-94, so it’s not terribly expensive, however booking this for only 5,000 points can mean the difference between 1 night in a hotel in Paris or 7 nights in a less well known city.

Am I going back to France this early? Maybe not, but this city looks exciting and the hotel is rather enticing. Plus, the average elevation of this city is above 1000ft so I could do some triathlon training at a slightly higher elevation than I’m accustomed to in San Jose.

