Numerous credit cards offer a gift for your card anniversary. Some of those gifts are more flexible than others, but it really depends on the card. Two credit cards I have which offer 1 free night certificate are the Hyatt and IHG credit cards from Chase. However, these certificates are not equal, aside from being for different hotel groups.

The certificate from Hyatt allows for 1 night at any hotel from Categories 1-4, versus the sign-up bonus of 2 nights at any hotel (even the Park Hyatt Paris Vendome). IHG, on the other hand, allows any hotel, regardless of Category level.

What doesn’t make sense with this difference is the annual fee for the IHG credit card is about half that of the Hyatt card.

My anniversary certificates posted to my accounts earlier this year and they came in handy during my vacation to Europe. I used my Hyatt cert at the Hyatt Regency Cologne which was an exception hotel and room.

For IHG, I booked a night at a Holiday Inn Express in Queens for the night between landing in JFK and leaving from LGA to go home.

